Booklist

Booker Prize Longlist 2021

Selected by the Bookshop


The longlist for the biggest prize in fiction has just been announced!

From the publisher:
'I've been telling everyone I know about Mary Lawson . . . Each of her novels is just a marvel' ANNE TYLERClara's sister is missing. Angry, rebellious Rose, had a row with their mother, stormed out of the house and simply disappeared.…

From the publisher:
**AN OBAMA SUMMER READING CHOICE AND NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**'A fine, lyrical novel, impressive in its complex interweaving of the grand and the intimate, of the personal and political' ObserverAn extraordinary novel of life after…

From the publisher:
'Chilling and utterly compelling, The Fortune Men shines an essential light on a much-neglected period of our national life' Sathnam Sanghera, author of EmpirelandMahmood Mattan is a fixture in Cardiff's Tiger Bay, 1952, which bustles with…

From the publisher:
'Dazzling.' The Times…

From the publisher:
LONGLISTED FOR THE 2021 BOOKER PRIZE…

From the publisher:
For fans of The Goldfinch, All the Light We Cannot See and The Girls: this monumentally powerful epic weaves together the astonishing lives of a daredevil female aviator and the Hollywood rebel who will play her on screen. 'Outrageously…

From the publisher:
Read the heart-stopping new novel from the Booker-shortlisted author of The Year of the Runaways'THE STUFF OF MIRACLES' Bryan Washington'A GORGEOUS, GRIPPING READ' Kamila Shamsie'I'M BLOWN AWAY BY IT' Tessa Hadley'NOVELS THIS GOOD ARE RARE'…

From the publisher:
It begins with a message: a telephone call informing Krishan that his grandmother's former care-giver, Rani, has died in unexpected circumstances, at the bottom of a well in her village in the north, her neck broken by the fall. The news…

From the publisher:
'A classic, but with contemporary urgency thumping through it.'…

From the publisher:
A masterpiece of a family in crisis from twice Booker-shortlisted author Damon Galgut'Astonishing' Colm Toibin'A literary masterpiece' Sarah HallThe Promise charts the crash and burn of a white South African family, living on a farm outside…

From the publisher:
Featured in Barack Obama's Summer Reading List 2021…

From the publisher:
THE BRAND NEW NOVEL FROM THE PULITZER PRIZE-WINNING, BOOKER PRIZE-SHORTLISTED AUTHOR OF THE OVERSTORY'It changed how I thought about the Earth and our place in it. . .It changed how I see things and that's always, for me, a mark of a book…

From the publisher:
LONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2021SHORTLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2021______________________________________________'A literary star' Hadley Freeman, Guardian'An intellectual and emotional rollercoaster' Daily…

Latest booklists
See all booklists

Latest booklists