After the Sun

Jonas Eika


We send all orders via Royal Mail: within the UK, choose from 1st Class, 2nd Class or Special Delivery; for the rest of the world, International Standard or International Tracked. Delivery and packaging charges are calculated automatically at the checkout.

To collect orders in person from the Bookshop, choose Click and Collect at the checkout.

Lolli Editions
24 August 2021
ISBN: 9781999992859
206 pages

From the publisher

Translated from the Danish by Sherilyn Nicolette Hellberg

Winner of the Nordic Council Literature Prize 2019, the Michael Strunge Prize, the Montana Prize for Fiction, and the Blixen Literary Award
Longlisted for the 2022 Republic of Consciousness Prize

From a major new international voice, mesmerising, inventive fiction that probes the tender places where human longings push through the cracks of a breaking world

Under Cancún’s hard blue sky, a beach boy provides a canvas for tourists’ desires, seeing deep into the world’s underbelly. An enigmatic encounter in Copenhagen takes an IT consultant down a rabbit hole of speculation that proves more seductive than sex. The collapse of a love triangle in London leads to a dangerous, hypnotic addiction. In the Nevada desert, a grieving man tries to merge with an unearthly machine.

After the Sun opens portals to our newest realities, haunting the margins of a globalised world that’s both saturated with yearning and brutally transactional. Infused with an irrepressible urgency, Eika’s fiction seems to have conjured these far-flung characters and their encounters in a single breath. Juxtaposing startling beauty with grotesquery, balancing the hyperrealistic with the fantastical, he has invented new modes of storytelling for an era when the old ones no longer suffice.