Booklist

Reviewed in the LRB - Vol. 43 No. 23

Selected by the Bookshop


From the publisher:
Carcanet publishes several Catulluses: C.H. Sisson's, Len Krisak's, Simon Smith's. But Isobel Williams's Catullus: Shibari Carmina is different in kind from the earlier versions. 'Translating Catullus has been, for me, like cage…

From the publisher:
From the International Man Booker Prize-winning author of Can't and Won't and The End of the Story - a crystalline collection of literary essays for fans of Susan Sontag and Joan Didion'She's a joy. There's no writer quite like her' Ali…

From the publisher:
Lydia Davis returns with a timeless collection of essays on literature and language.'Precise, concentrated, lyrical. No one writes like Lydia Davis, and everyone should read her' Hanif Kureishi'A writer as mighty as Kafka, as subtle as…

From the publisher:
WINNER OF THE NOBEL PRIZE IN LITERATURE“A wildly enjoyable book; the 85-year-old Vargas Llosa is as sharp and mordantly funny as ever.”Financial TimesGuatemala, 1954. A CIA-supported military coup topples the government. Behind…

From the publisher:
From the prizewinning Jewish Lives series, a meditation on the deeply Jewish and surprisingly spiritual roots of Stan Lee and Marvel Comics Few artists have had as much of an impact on American popular culture as Stan Lee. The characters he…

Latest booklists
See all booklists

Latest booklists