Booklist

The Booker Prize longlist 2022

Selected by the Bookshop


The longlist for the Booker Prize 2022 has been announced!

Gaby Wood, director of the Booker Prize Foundation, called the longlist “a set of books that are sometimes serious but never sombre, whose authors engage you with their wit, even as you absorb their dramatic, painful or provocative subject matter. It’s in this playfulness, of form or tone, that this year’s fiction is at its best.”

From the publisher:
The major new novel from million-copy bestselling author of We Are All Completely Beside OurselvesLONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2022A SUNDAY TIMES HISTORICAL NOVEL OF THE YEAR 2022AS HEARD ON BBC RADIO 4 OPEN…

From the publisher:
LONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2022“A page-turning blast, funny, sinister and perfectly plotted … Rarely has being constantly wrong-footed been so much fun.” James Walton, The Times“Very funny ……

From the publisher:
Longlisted for the Booker PrizeWinner of the Desmond Elliott PrizeShortlisted for the Sunday Times Young Writer of the YearShortlisted for the Goldsmiths PrizeLonglisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize'Original, memorable, shimmering'…

From the publisher:
LONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2022AN OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICKTHE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER'UNFORGETTABLE' GUARDIAN'A MAGNIFICENT DEBUT' RUTH OZEKI, winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 2022'A SOUL-SEARCHING…

From the publisher:
SHORTLISTED FOR THE ORWELL PRIZELONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2022‘Vivid and memorable.’ SARAH MOSS‘Luminous.’ Observer‘I utterly ADORED it.’ MARIAN KEYESHe handed the easel to the…

From the publisher:
The Pulitzer Prize-winning, Booker-longlisted, bestselling author returns to her beloved heroine Lucy Barton in a luminous novel about love, loss, and the family secrets that can erupt and bewilder us at any point in life Lucy Barton is a…

From the publisher:
LONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2022“Breathlessly, carnally beautiful… Something new and necessary.” —The Guardian“What did we want? To begin with, we wanted what half the population had got by just being…

From the publisher:
THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERWINNER OF THE 2023 PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTIONLONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2022ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVOURITE BOOKS OF 2022Perfect for fans of Succession, Trust is a sweeping puzzle of…

From the publisher:
**LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2023****SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2022**Discover an exhilarating novel about power and corruption set in a nation trapped in a cycle as old as time.'A masterpiece for our times. Gripping…

From the publisher:
‘Playful, moving and wholly remarkable’ Guardian‘A small miracle’ New Statesman‘Mastery of craft, resonance and deep feeling on every page’ TelegraphAn introspective young boy, Joseph…

From the publisher:
WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE 2022 Now with added author content - a Map of Colombo as viewed from the afterlife + Dramatis Personae A magical realism whodunnit set amid Sri Lanka's civil warColombo, 1990. Maali Almeida, war photographer,…

From the publisher:
** A Book of the Year in The Times – The New Statesman – Observer – Financial Times – Irish Times – Irish Independent – Times Literary Supplement…

Latest booklists
See all booklists

Latest booklists