Republic of Consciousness Prize 2019 Shortlist Readings

We hosted the shortlisted authors for the Republic of Consciousness Prize 2019 in an evening of readings at the London Review Bookshop. Rewarding the most exciting and interesting literature published by small presses in the UK and Ireland, the Republic of Consciousness Prize has previously been awarded to John Keene (Counternarratives, Fitzcarraldo Editions) and Eley Williams (Attrib. and other stories, Influx Press).

This year’s shortlist of six is: Daša Drndić for Doppelgänger, (Istros), Will Eaves for Murmur (CB Editions), Wendy Erskine for Sweet Home (Stinging Fly), Anthony Joseph for Kitch (Peepal Tree), Chris McCabe for Dedalus (Henningham Family Press) and Alex Pheby for Lucia (Galley Beggar). Sadly, Daša Drndić died last year, but was represented at the readings by her publisher and translator. See the full shortlist here.

The readings were introduced by the prize’s founder, Neil Griffiths.

The Republic of Consciousness Prize was set up in 2017, and is given yearly to a book published by a small press in the UK & Ireland. It is the only prize that awards money to both the publisher and the author of the winning title.