Twenty Years of the Caine Prize for African Writing



We send all orders via Royal Mail: within the UK, choose from 1st Class, 2nd Class or Special Delivery; for the rest of the world, International Standard or International Tracked. Delivery and packaging charges are calculated automatically at the checkout.

To collect orders in person from the Bookshop, choose Click and Collect at the checkout.

New Internationalist Publications Ltd
31 October 2019
ISBN: 9781780265568
320 pages

From the publisher

A jailer's love poems ghost-written by a prisoner... Love blossoming between two girls despite the horror of their community... Street kids stick-fighting or stealing guavas from the rich... A dystopian world where women must go naked until they marry... A sparkling anthology of short stories featuring the first twenty winners of the Caine Prize, Africa's premier literary competition. This prestigious collection reflects the richness and diversity of African experience and features stories from Sudan, Nigeria, Kenya, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Uganda and Sierra Leone. The twenty-year celebratory collection includes: * 'The Museum' - Leila Aboulela (2000, Sudan) * 'Love Poems' - Helon Habila (2001, Nigeria) * 'Discovering Home' - Binyavanga Wainaina (2002, Kenya) * 'Weight of Whispers' - Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor (2003, Kenya) * 'Seventh Street Alchemy' - Brian Chikwava (2004, Zimbabwe) * 'Monday Morning' - Segun Afolabi (2005, Nigeria) * 'Jungfrau' - Mary Watson (2006, South Africa) * 'Jambula Tree' - Monica Arac de Nyeko (2007, Uganda) * 'Poison' - Henrietta Rose-Innes (2008, South Africa) * 'Waiting' - EC Osundu (2009, Nigeria) * 'Stickfighting Days' - Olufemi Terry (2010, Sierra Leone) * 'Hitting Budapest' - Noviolet Bulawayo (2011, Zimbabwe) * 'Bombay's Republic' - Rotimi Babatunde (2012, Nigeria) * 'Miracle' - Tope Folarin (2013, Nigeria) * 'My Father's Head' - Okwiri Oduor (2014, Kenya) * 'The Sack' - Namwali Serpell (2015, Zambia) * 'Memories We Lost' - Lidudumalingani (2016, South Africa) * 'The Story of the Girl' - Bushra al-Fadil (2017, Sudan) * 'Fanta Blackcurrant' - Makena Onjerika (2018, Kenya) * 'Skinned' - Lesley Nneka Arimah (2019, Nigeria)